YOGA POWER: Fitness and Peace in the Postures

image

I did not understand, YOGA POWER, until my mom walked into the room and I noticed how great she looked in her yoga pants! Yoga transformed her- she lost weight, toned-up, and increased her strength and flexibility! You would never guess she is in her… well, I promised not to reveal her age, but you would be impressed.

STUDIO YOU YOGA
That is when she told me about Studio You Yoga a new yoga center that opened up in Greenwood off of US 135, in front of Home Depot. The yoga instructors at Studio You Yoga are passionate about teaching yoga that focuses on YOU becoming successful in achieving mind-body balance through physical fitness, self-awareness and personal growth.

What is Yoga?
Yoga is a full body workout that focuses on two things, holding poses, also called postures, and breathing. Not just simple reflex breathing but controlled, deliberate breathes that clear the mind. Breath, in yoga, signifies your ‘vital energy’. Yoga masters believe if you control your breath, then you control your body and calm the mind.

Yoga postures are movements designed to strengthen, increase flexibility and improve balance. They can be simple, such as lying on the floor while relaxed, to much more challenging movements which push you physically. No…you won’t be tied up like a pretzel, so don’t let that common fear scare you off. You modify what you can do that day. That is why you need a good instructor to help you identify and work through your limitations.

Meet STUDIO YOU YOGA Instructors
As soon as you walk into the studio you just feel healthier by the creative and soothing environment. The instructors are so kind, knowledgeable and eager to help. They have a team of certified yoga teachers on staff. The three pictured above are the owner and two of the instructors.

-LORI DAVIS (co-owner, featured in the middle).
She is a registered yoga instructor and a former figure athlete (very competitive and strenuous sport). Yoga has been an lifeline for Lori.

“Yoga led me to see myself from the inside to the outside, I AM COMPETING WITH NO ONE, I AM AT PEACE.” The power of yoga inspired her to help others find balance in their life, as it did for her, so she helped open the doors of Studio You Yoga in November 2013. The studio has been doing well and plans to expand into the space next door.

-KAREN KRIEGER (registered yoga instructor, featured to the right)
Karen’s yoga passion started in the golden state of California, she started teaching in 2011.

“Teaching yoga is the privilege of witnessing the internal transformation that occurs at the junction of breath and movement. As we learn to balance on the mat…we learn to balance life’s challenges.”

-CHIA BUSH, (registered yoga instructor, featured to the left)
Chia’s yoga passion sparked in Taiwan where she was influenced by well respected Indian yoga masters.

“Yoga became my new ‘Addiction’. Hey, A good addiction!” “I love to share my knowledge with people and through Yoga I am willing to help and teach people to make them feel better for themselves. I truly believe a healthy life, a healthy body and a healthy mind all connect together. You can find all that through the practice of YOGA.”

Mother Knows Best
I confess, I really did not pay attention to the power of yoga until my mom’s transformation. Yoga and her instructors have been an intricate part of her fitness. The following is her (Jan Mosher) thoughts:

“Why do yoga? For me it’s about flexibility, strength, and balance! Also, the oh so positive effect of calming and soothing of the mind.

Sometimes the most difficult thing about going to yoga or any exercise is getting yourself there! However, once I begin to move through the postures I feel better, and by the end of the class an overall sense of well-being has replaced, for instance, an aching back or a sore neck. Instead, I feel relaxed and energized at the same time.

I have increased strength in my arms, legs, and core. My flexibility has increased greatly and my balance has improved. Of course, there is still room for improvement, but I am determined to keep working as I am encouraged with my accomplishments so far.”

Diverse Yoga Classes
Classes are available for different levels from beginners, intermediate to advance. There is also a cornucopia of dynamic and intriguing classes that involve essential oils and heated rooms. Check out their website for classes, schedules and prices at http://www.studioyouyoga.com. By the way, MEN do attend their classes.

Yoga is comprehensive body workout and a great way to achieve serenity, peace and…take a breathe… look fantastic in your yoga pants!

About adwettrick

I am a Family Nurse Practitioner that works in an OB/GYN practice at Community Hospital North in Indianapolis. I graduated with my undergraduate and master's degree at Indiana University-Purdue University in Indianapolis in 2005. I am married to my best friend, Don Wettrick, whom is one of the inspirations in my life along with my three beautiful children and of course my faith in God. I enjoy educating my patients on preventative health and how to balance their busy life and being healthy. Mind, body, spirit are all connected and if one is in trouble the others tend to suffer as well.
This entry was posted in exercise, fitness, stress relief, Yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

